ecologic-events.de       Ecologic
  Home
   
 
 
   
  Programme
  Presentations
 
 
 
  Location
  Hotels
   
  Contact
   
 
   
   
 
Print page
   
 

Towards a stronger System of International Environmental Governance

26 May 2005, Berlin



Launched in 2003, a French Initiative gave new impetus into the debate about upgrading UNEP to a United Nation Environment Organisation (UNEO). In this context Ecologic - in cooperation with IDDRI - organizes a conference in May 2005. It is the conference's objective to discuss and explore the potential benefits of a UNEO. 2004 Nobel Peace Prize Winner Prof. Wangari Maathai as well as Federal Minister of Environment Juergen Trittin will be among the conference's speakers.

trittin_matthai    lepeltier_trittin

tubiana    matthai_kraemer

najam    audience

Over the last decades, UNEP, as a major player of the existing international environmental regimes, has successfully contributed to global environmental policies. Despite this success, the general consensus is that UNEP performance is not completely satisfying. The perceived shortcomings are particularly related to the following aspects:

  • UNEP lacks authority at international level and within the UN.
  • Partly because of this lack of authority, the work of international institutions concerned with environmental questions is insufficiently co-ordinated.
  • This deficient co-ordination results in a lack of political leadership in the area of global environmental politics.

Against this background, Germany and France are calling for the upgrading of UNEP to a UN environmental organisation (UNEO) with the status of a UN specialised agency, so that the UN environmental agency can operate on the same level as the other large UN organisations (e.g. FAO, WHO). It is assumed that a UNEO would be in a better position than UNEP presently is to co-operate with the World Bank and UNDP at the same footing and realise - among others - the necessary progress in the area of Capacity Building for efficient environmental management in developing countries.

 

Conference Summary [pdf, 23 KB, englsih]


 

This conference is organised by Ecologic in co-operation with Institute for Sustainable Development and International Relations (IDDRI). Generous support from the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety makes this event possible.


All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
Copyright by Ecologic gGmbH,
see also Legal / Disclaimer / Impressum
Please contact us with any suggestions and comments.

ecologic-events.de       Ecologic
  Home
   
 
 
 
   
  Impressum
   
   
 
   
   
 
Seite drucken
   
 

Stärkung des internationalen Umweltregimes

26. Mai 2005, Berlin



Bitte beachten Sie, dass sich eine ausführlichere Dokumentation der Veranstaltung nur auf der englischen Konferenz Website befindet.

Zusammenfassung der Konferenz [pdf, 23 KB, Englisch]

Die 2003 von Präsident Chirac initiierte "Französische Initiative", die im Wesentlichen eine Aufwertung des bestehenden Umweltprogramms der Vereinten Nationen in eine UN Umweltorganisation fordert, hat der Debatte über eine Reform von UNEP neue Impulse gegeben. In diesem Kontext veranstaltet Ecologic in Kooperation mit IDDRI eine Konferenz im Mai 2005. Ziel der Konferenz ist es, die Vorteile einer UNEO mit Vertretern aus Politik, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft zu diskutieren und herauszustellen. Unter anderem werden Bundesumweltminister Jürgen Trittin und Friedensnobelpreisträgerin 2004 Wangari Maathai auf der Veranstaltung sprechen.

UNEP hat im Rahmen des bestehenden internationalen Umweltregimes in den letzten Jahrzehnten erfolgreich dazu beigetragen, dass Umweltbelange global stärker berücksichtigt werden. Trotz dieser Erfolge besteht Einigkeit darüber, dass die Tätigkeit von UNEP und ihre Ergebnisse nicht zufriedenstellend sind. Defizite werden insbesondere im Hinblick auf die folgenden Punkte gesehen:

  • mangelnde Durchsetzungsfähigkeit UNEPs auf internationaler Ebene und innerhalb der Vereinten Nationen,
  • teilweise bedingt durch die mangelnde Durchsetzungsfähigkeit UNEPs besteht keine ausreichende Kohärenz zwischen den internationalen Institutionen, die mit Umweltfragen befasst sind,
  • die defizitäre Koordination führt zu einem Mangel an politischer Führung im Bereich globaler Umweltpolitik.

Deshalb fordern Deutschland und Frankreich die Aufwertung UNEPs zu einer UN-Umweltorganisation im Rang einer UN specialized agency, damit die Umweltbehörde der Vereinten Nationen auf gleicher Augenhöhe wie die anderen großen UN-Organisationen (FAO, WHO) agieren kann. Eine UN-Umweltorganisation sei insbesondere besser als die gegenwärtige UNEP positioniert, um in Kooperation mit Weltbank und UNDP im Bereich Capacity Building für effiziente Umweltverwaltungen in Entwicklungsländern die erforderlichen Fortschritte zu erzielen.


 

Dieses Seminar wird von Ecologic in Kooperation mit dem Institut du Développement Durable et des Relations Internationales (IDDRI) veranstaltet. Eine großzüge Unterstützung des Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit (BMU) ermöglicht diese Veranstaltung.


All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
Copyright by Ecologic gGmbH,
see also Legal / Disclaimer / Impressum
Please contact us with any suggestions and comments.